The Society for Mathematical Biology

Annual Meeting and Conference, July 21-26, 2019


The 2019 Annual Meeting and Conference of the Society for Mathematical Biology (SMB) will be held in Montréal (Canada) from July 21-26, 2019. The conference theme is From genome to biome. The conference is organized by the Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) and will be held on the campus of the Université de Montréal.


Plenary Speakers

Helen Byrne, University of Oxford - Leah Edelstein-Keshet Prize
Caroline Colijn, Simon Fraser University

Morgan Craig, Université de Montréal  - Lee A. Segel Prize  (junior) 
Kim Cuddington, University of Waterloo 

Noaki Masuda, University of Bristol - Akira Okubo Prize     

Nick Monk, University of Sheffield - John Jungck Prize  

Arthur Sherman, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases -

                        Arthur T. Winfree Prize 

Moritz Thon, Technical University of Munich - Lee A. Segel Prize  (senior)

Lindi Wahl, Western University


Call for Minisymposium Proposals


Minisymposia are a crucial component of the Conference.


We invite Minisymposium proposals with 4 or 8 speakers over one or two periods of two-hour duration (4 speakers per period, typically 25 minute talks followed by 5 minute question period). Organizers are asked to select speakers with an eye to gender and geographical balance.


Fill out the form :  SMB2019-MinisymposiumProposal



Scientific Committee

Jane Heffernan (York University) Co-Chair
Jacques Bélair (Université de Montréal) Co-Chair
Alexander Anderson (Moffitt Cancer Center)

Julien Arino (University of Manitoba)
Daniel Coombs (University of British Columbia)
Frédéric Guichard (McGill University)
Thomas Hillen (University of Alberta)
Anmar Khadra (McGill University)
Stéphanie Portet (University of Manitoba)
Ami Radunskaya (Pomona College)

James Watmough (University of New Brunswick)
Huaiping Zhu (York University)

Local Organizing Committee
Jacques Bélair, Chair

Frédéric Guichard

Anmar Khadra

Louis Pelletier